HM Revenue & Customs: Progress in tackling tobacco smuggling - Public Accounts Committee Contents

Committee of Public Accounts

The Committee of Public Accounts is appointed by the House of Commons to

examine "the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by

Parliament to meet the public expenditure, and of such other accounts laid

before Parliament as the committee may think fit" (Standing Order No 148).

Current membership

Rt Hon Margaret Hodge (Labour, Barking) (Chair)

Mr Richard Bacon (Conservative, South Norfolk)

Stephen Barclay (Conservative, North East Cambridgeshire)

Guto Bebb (Conservative, Aberconwy)

Jackie Doyle-Price (Conservative, Thurrock)

Chris Heaton-Harris (Conservative, Daventry)

Meg Hillier (Labour, Hackney South and Shoreditch)

Mr Stewart Jackson (Conservative, Peterborough)

Sajid Javid (Conservative, Bromsgrove)

Fiona Mactaggart (Labour, Slough)

Austin Mitchell (Labour, Great Grimsby)

Nick Smith (Labour, Blaenau Gwent)

Ian Swales (Liberal Democrats, Redcar)

Justin Tomlinson (Conservative, North Swindon)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of

which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No

152. These are available on the internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery

Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press

notices) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the

Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Additional written evidence may be published on the internet only.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee is Adrian Jenner (Clerk), Claire Cozens (Committee Specialist), Sonia Draper (Senior Committee Assistant), Ian Blair and James McQuade (Committee Assistants) and Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk, Committee of Public

Accounts, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone

number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5708; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2013
Prepared 10 October 2013