Public Administration Committee - Eighth Report
Truth to power: how Civil Service reform can succeed

Here you can browse the report together with the Proceedings of the Committee. The published report was ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 3 September 2013.


Terms of Reference


1 Introduction

2 Civil Service reform: history and background

3 The Civil Service Reform Plan and prospects for further reform

4 The state of the Civil Service

5 A Parliamentary Commission?

6 Conclusion

Conclusions and recommendations

Formal Minutes


List of printed written evidence

List of additional written evidence

List of Reports from the Committee during the current Parliament

Oral and written evidence

Tuesday 8 January 2013: Patrick Diamond, University of Manchester, Lord Hennessy of Nympsfield, Queen Mary University of London, and Professor Christopher Hood, University of Oxford; Sean Worth, Policy Exchange, Rt Hon Peter Riddell, Institute for Government, and Andrew Haldenby,Reform

Tuesday 15 January: Professor Andrew Kakabadse, Cranfield School of Management, Dr Chris Gibson-Smith, Chair, London Stock Exchange, Sir John Elvidge, former Permanent Secretary, Scottish Government, Dr Suzy Walton, former civil servant

Tuesday 29 January: Lord Wilson of Dinton GCB, former Cabinet Secretary, and Rt Hon Dame Janet Paraskeva, former First Civil Service Commissioner; Rt Hon Lord Adonis, Sir Nick Harvey MP, Rt Hon Nick Herbert MP, Rt Hon Caroline Spelman MP

Tuesday 12 February: Lord Browne of Madingley, Government Lead Non-Executive; Lord O’Donnell GCB, former Cabinet Secretary

Wednesday 13 February: Sir David Normington GCB, Commissioner for Public Appointments and First Civil Service Commissioner; Dave Penman, General Secretary, FDA, and Hugh Lanning, Deputy General Secretary, PCS

Tuesday 27 February: Damian McBride, Head of Communications, CAFOD; Caroline Downs, Chief Executive, Local Government Association and Derrick Anderson, Chief Executive, Lambeth Council

Tuesday 5 March: Professor Matthew Flinders, University of Sheffield, Lord Norton, University of Hull, and Professor Anthony King, University of Essex

Wednesday 20 March: Rt Hon Jack Straw MP, former Cabinet Minister

Tuesday 16 April: Jonathan Powell, former 10 Downing Street Chief of Staff

Thursday 18 April: Sir Jeremy Heywood KCB CVO, Cabinet Secretary, and Sir Bob Kerslake, Head of the Civil Service

Monday 13 May: Rt Hon Francis Maude MP, Minister for the Cabinet Office

Monday 24 June: Rt Hon Francis Maude MP, Minister for the Cabinet Office

Written evidence

Additional written evidence

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2013
Prepared 6 September 2013