Caught red-handed: Why we can't count on Police Recorded Crime statistics - Public Administration Committee Contents

The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC)

The Public Administration Select Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the reports of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration and the Health Service Commissioner for England, which are laid before this House, and matters in connection therewith, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by civil service departments, and other matters relating to the civil service.

Current membership

Mr Bernard Jenkin MP (Conservative, Harwich and North Essex) (Chair)

Alun Cairns MP (Conservative, Vale of Glamorgan)

Paul Flynn MP (Labour, Newport West)

Sheila Gilmore MP (Labour, Edinburgh East)

Robert Halfon MP (Conservative, Harlow)

David Heyes MP (Labour, Ashton under Lyne)

Kelvin Hopkins MP (Labour, Luton North)

Greg Mulholland MP (Liberal Democrat, Leeds North West)

Priti Patel MP (Conservative, Witham)

Lindsay Roy MP (Labour, Glenrothes)

Mr Andrew Turner MP (Conservative, Isle of Wight)


The following Members were also Members of the Committee during part of the inquiry:

Charlie Elphicke MP (Conservative, Dover)

Mr Steve Reed MP (Labour, Croydon North)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 146. These are available on the internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Catherine Tyack and Sian Woodward (Joint Clerks), Rebecca Short (Second Clerk), Alexandra Meakin (Committee Specialist), Jim Lawford (Committee Assistant) and Jonathan Olivier Wright (Web and Publications Assistant). Rod McInnes was seconded to the Committee from the House of Commons Library during this inquiry.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerks of the Public Administration Select Committee, Committee Office, First Floor, 7 Millbank, House of Commons, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5730; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 9 April 2014