Science and Technology  Committee - Eighth Report
Communicating climate science

Here you can browse the report together with the Proceedings of the Committee. The published report was ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 26 March 2014.


Terms of Reference


1 Introduction

2 Why is communication important?

3 Communicating climate science

4 Effective communication

5 Conclusions

Conclusions and recommendations

Formal Minutes


List of printed written evidence

List of additional written evidence

List of Reports from the Committee during the current Parliament

Oral and written evidence

Wednesday 19 June 2013: Dr Catherine Happer, Glasgow University Media Group, Professor Greg Philo, Glasgow University Media Group, and Tom Sheldon, Senior Press Officer, Science Media Centre

Wednesday 26 June 2013 (Atmosphere Gallery, Science Museum): Professor Nick Pidgeon, Understanding Risk Research Group, Cardiff University, Professor Chris Rapley, Communicating Climate Science Policy Commission, UCL, and Dr Alex Burch, Director of Learning, Science Museum Group; Professor John Womersley, Chief Executive, Science and Technology Facilities Council, and Champion for RCUK Public Engagement with Research, Professor Tim Palmer, Vice-President, Royal Meteorological Society, Professor Rowan Sutton, Director of Climate Research, National Centre for Atmospheric Science, and Professor John Pethica, Physical Secretary and Vice-President, Royal Society

Wednesday 17 July 2013: David Jordan, Director of Editorial Policy and Standards, BBC, Ralph Lee, Head of Factual, Channel 4, and Fiona Ball, Head of Environment and Engagement, BSkyB Limited; Ros Donald, Carbon Brief, Andrew Montford, Bishop Hill Blog, and James Painter, Head of the Journalism Fellowship Programme, Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism

Monday 9 September 2013: Dr James Randerson, Assistant National News Editor, environment, science and technology, The Guardian, Catherine Brahic, News Editor: environment and life sciences, New Scientist; Fiona Harvey, Environment Correspondent, The Guardian, Lewis Smith, Freelance Journalist, and Richard Black, former BBC Environment Correspondent

Wednesday 11 September 2013: Tony Grayling, Head of Climate Change and Communities, Environment Agency, Phil Rothwell, Head of Strategy and Engagement (Flood and Coastal Risk Management), Environment Agency, Paul Crick, Director of Planning and Environment, Kent County Council, and Katie Stead, Environment Officer, Investment and Regeneration Service, Kirklees Council; John Hirst, Chief Executive, Met Office, and Professor Julia Slingo, Chief Scientist, Met Office

Wednesday 9 October 2013: Rt Hon Lord Deben, Chairman, and David Kennedy, Chief Executive, Committee on Climate Change; Rt Hon David Willetts MP, Minister of State for Universities and Science, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills; Rt Hon Gregory Barker MP, Minister of State for Climate Change, Professor David MacKay, Chief Scientific Adviser, and David Warrilow, Head of Science, Department of Energy and Climate Change

Wednesday 6 November 2013: Professor Sir Mark Walport, Chief Scientific Adviser to HM Government and Head of the Government Office for Science

Written evidence

Additional written evidence

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 2 April 2014