Monitoring the Performance of the Department for Work and Pensions in 2012-13 - Work and Pensions Committee Contents

The Work and Pensions Committee

The Work and Pensions Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to

examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for

Work and Pensions and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Dame Anne Begg MP (Labour, Aberdeen South) (Chair)

Debbie Abrahams MP (Labour, Oldham East and Saddleworth)

Graham Evans MP (Conservative, Weaver Vale)

Sheila Gilmore MP (Labour, Edinburgh East)

Glenda Jackson MP (Labour, Hampstead and Kilburn)

Kwasi Kwarteng MP (Conservative, Spelthorne)

Nigel Mills MP (Conservative, Amber Valley)

Anne Marie Morris MP (Conservative, Newton Abbot)

Teresa Pearce MP (Labour, Erith and Thamesmead)

Mr Michael Thornton MP (Liberal Democrat, Eastleigh)

Dame Angela Watkinson MP (Conservative, Hornchurch and Upminster)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during the


Harriett Baldwin MP (Conservative, West Worcestershire), Andrew Bingham MP

(Conservative, High Peak), Karen Bradley MP (Conservative, Staffordshire

Moorlands), Ms Karen Buck MP (Labour, Westminster North), Mr Aidan Burley MP (Conservative, Cannock Chase), Alex Cunningham MP (Labour, Stockton North), Margaret Curran MP (Labour, Glasgow East), Jane Ellison MP (Conservative, Battersea), Richard Graham MP (Conservative, Gloucester), Kate Green MP (Labour, Stretford and Urmston), Oliver Heald MP (Conservative, North East Hertfordshire), Sajid Javid MP (Conservative, Bromsgrove), Brandon Lewis MP (Conservative, Great Yarmouth), Stephen Lloyd MP (Liberal Democrat, Eastbourne) and Shabana Mahmood MP (Labour, Birmingham, Ladywood).


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of

which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No

152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website at and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the Committee's website at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Carol Oxborough (Clerk), Joanna Welham (Second Clerk), David Foster (Committee Media Adviser), James Clarke, (Committee Specialist), Daniela Silcock (Committee Specialist), Emma Sawyer (Senior Committee Assistant), and Hannah Beattie (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Work and Pensions

Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone

number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2839; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 18 March 2014