Student Loans - Business, Innovation and Skills Committee Contents

Business, Innovation and Skills Committee

The Business, Innovation and Skills Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.

Current membership

Mr Adrian Bailey MP (Labour, West Bromwich West) (Chair)

Mr William Bain MP (Labour, Glasgow North East)

Mr Brian Binley MP (Conservative, Northampton South)

Paul Blomfield MP (Labour, Sheffield Central)

Katy Clark MP (Labour, North Ayrshire and Arran)

Mike Crockart MP (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West)

Caroline Dinenage MP (Conservative, Gosport)

Rebecca Harris MP (Conservative, Castle Point)

Ann McKechin MP (Labour, Glasgow North)

Mr Robin Walker MP (Conservative, Worcester)

Nadhim Zahawi MP (Conservative, Stratford-upon-Avon)

The following members were also members of the Committee during the Parliament.

Luciana Berger MP (Labour, Liverpool, Wavertree)

Jack Dromey MP (Labour, Birmingham, Erdington)

Julie Elliott MP (Labour, Sunderland Central)

Margot James MP (Conservative, Stourbridge)

Dan Jarvis MP (Labour, Barnsley Central)

Simon Kirby MP (Conservative, Brighton Kemptown)

Gregg McClymont MP (Labour, Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East)

Ian Murray MP (Labour, Edinburgh South)

Nicky Morgan MP (Conservative, Loughborough)

Chi Onwurah MP (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne Central)

Rachel Reeves MP (Labour, Leeds West)

Mr David Ward MP (Liberal Democrat, Bradford East)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website at and by The Stationary Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the Committee's website at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are James Davies (Clerk), Amelia Aspden (Second Clerk), Peter Stam (Committee Specialist), Josephine Willows (Committee Specialist), Frances Allingham (Senior Committee Assistant), and Pam Morris (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee, House of Commons, 7th Floor, 14 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9NB. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5777; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 22 July 2014