Future of the BBC - Culture, Media and Sport Contents

The Culture, Media and Sport Committee

The Culture, Media and Sport Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Culture, Media and Sport and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Mr John Whittingdale MP (Conservative, Maldon) (Chair)

Mr Ben Bradshaw MP (Labour, Exeter)

Angie Bray MP (Conservative, Ealing Central and Acton)

Conor Burns MP (Conservative, Bournemouth West)

Tracey Crouch MP (Conservative, Chatham and Aylesford)

Philip Davies MP (Conservative, Shipley)

Paul Farrelly MP (Labour, Newcastle-under-Lyme)

Mr John Leech MP (Liberal Democrat, Manchester, Withington)

Steve Rotheram MP (Labour, Liverpool, Walton)

Jim Sheridan MP (Labour, Paisley and Renfrewshire North)

Mr Gerry Sutcliffe MP (Labour, Bradford South)

The following Members were also a member of the Committee during the Parliament:

David Cairns MP (Labour, Inverclyde)

Dr Thérèse Coffey MP (Conservative, Suffolk Coastal)

Damian Collins MP (Conservative, Folkestone and Hythe)

Alan Keen MP (Labour Co-operative, Feltham and Heston)

Louise Mensch MP (Conservative, Corby)

Mr Adrian Sanders MP (Liberal Democrat, Torbay)

Mr Tom Watson MP (Labour, West Bromwich East)


The Committee is one of the Departmental Select Committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at www.parliament.uk/cmscom.A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

All the evidence relating to this Report can be found on the Committee's website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Elizabeth Flood (Clerk), Grahame Danby (Second Clerk), Kevin Candy (Inquiry Manager), Hannah Wentworth (Senior Committee Assistant), Keely Bishop (Committee Assistant) and Jessica Bridges-Palmer (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee, House of Commons, 14 Tothill Street, London SW1P 9NB. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6188; the Committee's email address is cmscom@parliament.uk

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015
Prepared 25 February 2015