Remote Control: Remotely Piloted Air Systems - current and future UK use - Defence Committee Contents

The Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rory Stewart MP (Conservative, Penrith and The Border) (Chair)

Mr Julian Brazier MP (Conservative, Canterbury)

Rt Hon Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP (Democratic Unionist, Lagan Valley)

Mr James Gray MP (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Mr Dai Havard MP (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Adam Holloway MP (Conservative, Gravesham)

Mrs Madeleine Moon MP (Labour, Bridgend)

Sir Bob Russell MP (Liberal Democrat, Colchester)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)

Ms Gisela Stuart MP (Labour, Birmingham, Edgbaston)

Derek Twigg MP (Labour, Halton)

John Woodcock MP (Labour/Co-op, Barrow and Furness)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during this inquiry.

Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire) (former Chair)

Thomas Docherty MP (Labour, Dunfermline and West Fife)

Penny Mordaunt MP (Conservative, Portsmouth North)

Sandra Osborne MP (Labour, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

The Reports of the Committee, the formal minutes relating to that report, oral evidence taken and some or all written evidence are available in a printed volume. Additional written evidence may be published on the internet only.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are James Rhys (Clerk), Karen Jackson (Audit Adviser), Eleanor Scarnell (Committee Specialist), Ian Thomson (Committee Specialist), Christine Randall (Senior Committee Assistant), and Rowena Macdonald and Carolyn Bowes (Committee Assistants.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5745; the Committee's email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Alex Paterson on 020 7219 1589.

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 29 July 2014