Decision-making in Defence Policy - Defence Contents

The Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rory Stewart MP (Conservative, Penrith and The Border) (Chair)

Richard Benyon MP (Conservative, Newbury)

Rt Hon Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP (Democratic Unionist, Lagan Valley)

Mr James Gray MP (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Mr Dai Havard MP (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Rt Hon Dr Julian Lewis MP (Conservative, New Forest East)

Mrs Madeleine Moon MP (Labour, Bridgend)

Sir Bob Russell MP (Liberal Democrat, Colchester)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)

Ms Gisela Stuart MP (Labour, Birmingham, Edgbaston)

Derek Twigg MP (Labour, Halton)

John Woodcock MP (Labour/Co-op, Barrow and Furness)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in the House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website at and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the Committee's website on the inquiry page.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are James Rhys (Clerk), Leoni Kurt (Second Clerk), Eleanor Scarnell (Committee Specialist), Ian Thomson (Committee Specialist), Christine Randall (Senior Committee Assistant), Alison Pratt and Carolyn Bowes (Committee Assistants).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5745; the Committee's email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Alex Paterson on 020 7219 1589.

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015
Prepared 26 March 2015