Life lessons: PSHE and SRE in schools - Education Contents

The Education Committee

The Education Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Education and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Mr Graham Stuart MP (Conservative, Beverley and Holderness) (Chair)

Neil Carmichael MP (Conservative, Stroud)

Alex Cunningham MP (Labour, Stockton North)

Bill Esterson MP (Labour, Sefton Central)

Pat Glass MP (Labour, North West Durham)

Siobhain McDonagh MP (Labour, Mitcham and Morden)

Ian Mearns MP (Labour, Gateshead)

Caroline Nokes MP (Conservative, Romsey and Southampton North)

Mr Dominic Raab MP (Conservative, Esher and Walton)

Mr David Ward MP (Liberal Democrat, Bradford East)

Craig Whittaker MP (Conservative, Calder Valley)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website at and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Lynn Gardner (Clerk), Lloyd Owen (Second Clerk), Martin Smith (Committee Specialist), Beryl-Joan Bonsu (Social Media Support Assistant), Ameet Chudasama (Senior Committee Assistant), Simon Armitage (Committee Assistant) and Hannah Pearce (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Education Committee, House of Commons, 14 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9NB. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1333; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015
Prepared 17 February 2015