Into independence, not out of care: 16 plus care options: Government Response to the Committee's Second Report of Session 2014-15 - Education Committee Contents

The Education Committee

The Education Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Education and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Mr Graham Stuart MP (Conservative, Beverley and Holderness) (Chair)

Neil Carmichael MP (Conservative, Stroud)

Alex Cunningham MP (Labour, Stockton North)

Bill Esterson MP (Labour, Sefton Central)

Pat Glass MP (Labour, North West Durham)

Siobhain McDonagh MP (Labour, Mitcham and Morden)

Ian Mearns MP (Labour, Gateshead)

Caroline Nokes MP (Conservative, Romsey and Southampton North)

Mr Dominic Raab MP (Conservative, Esher and Walton)

Mr David Ward MP (Liberal Demorat, Bradford East)

Craig Whittaker MP (Conservative, Calder Valley)

Chris Skidmore MP (Conservative, Kingswood) was also a Member of the Committee for this inquiry.


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Lynn Gardner (Clerk), Lloyd Owen (Second Clerk), Martin Smith (Committee Specialist), Claudia Sumner (Committee Specialist), Ameet Chudasama (Senior Committee Assistant) and Michael Everett (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Education Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1333; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 20 October 2014