Environmental Audit Committee

The Environmental Audit Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider to what extent the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development; to audit their performance against such targets as may be set for them by Her Majesty's Ministers; and to report thereon to the House.

Membership at the time of the report

Joan Walley MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent North) (Chair)

Peter Aldous MP (Conservative, Waveney)

Neil Carmichael MP (Conservative, Stroud)

Martin Caton MP (Labour, Gower)

Katy Clark MP (Labour, North Ayrshire and Arran)

Zac Goldsmith MP (Conservative, Richmond Park)

Mike Kane MP (Labour, Wythenshawe and Sale East)

Mark Lazarowicz MP (Labour/Co-operative, Edinburgh North and Leith)

Caroline Lucas MP (Green, Brighton Pavilion)

Caroline Nokes MP (Conservative, Romsey and Southampton North)

Dr Matthew Offord MP (Conservative, Hendon)

Dan Rogerson MP Liberal Democrat, North Cornwall) [ex-officio]

Rt Hon Mrs Caroline Spelman MP (Conservative, Meriden)

Mr Mark Spencer MP (Conservative, Sherwood)

Dr Alan Whitehead MP (Labour, Southampton, Test)

Simon Wright MP (Liberal Democrat, Norwich South)

The following members were also members of the committee during the parliament:

Richard Benyon MP (Conservative, Newbury) [ex-officio]

Chris Evans MP (Labour/Co-operative, Islwyn)

Ian Murray MP (Labour, Edinburgh South)

Sheryll Murray MP (Conservative, South East Cornwall)

Paul Uppal MP (Conservative, Wolverhampton South West)


The constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152A. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website at
www.parliament.uk/eacom and by The Stationary Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry webpage at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Simon Fiander (Clerk), Richard Clarke (Committee Specialist), Julia Keddie (Inquiry Manager), Ryan Kelly (Inquiry Manager), Andrew Wallace (Senior Committee Assistant), Anna Browning (Committee Assistant), and Nicholas Davies (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Environmental Audit Committee, House of Commons, 14 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9NB. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6150; the Committee's email address is eacom@parliament.uk

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 8 December 2014