Food security - Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee Contents

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee

The Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and its associated bodies.

Current membership

Miss Anne McIntosh (Conservative, Thirsk and Malton) (Chair)

Richard Drax (Conservative, South Dorset)

Jim Fitzpatrick (Labour, Poplar and Limehouse)

Mrs Mary Glindon (Labour, North Tyneside)

Mrs Emma Lewell-Buck (Labour, South Shields)

Iain McKenzie (Labour, Inverclyde)

Sheryll Murray (Conservative, South East Cornwall)

Neil Parish (Conservative, Tiverton and Honiton)

Ms Margaret Ritchie (Social Democratic and Labour Party, South Down)

Mr Mark Spencer (Conservative, Sherwood)

Roger Williams (Liberal Democrat, Brecon and Radnorshire)

The following members were also members of the committee during the inquiry:

Thomas Docherty (Labour, Dunfermline and West Fife)

George Eustice (Conservative, Camborne and Redruth)

Barry Gardiner (Labour, Brent North)

Dan Rogerson (Liberal Democrat, North Cornwall)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website at and by The Stationary Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the Committee's website at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are David Weir (Clerk), Anna Dickson (Second Clerk), Sara Priestley (Committee Specialist—Environment), Boaz Nathanson (Committee Specialist—Agriculture), Clare Genis (Senior Committee Assistant), Lisa Stead (Committee Assistant) and Hannah Pearce (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 14 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9NB. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5774; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 1 July 2014