UK policy towards Iran - Foreign Affairs Committee Contents

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Sir Richard Ottaway (Conservative, Croydon South) (Chair)

Mr John Baron (Conservative, Basildon and Billericay)

Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell (Liberal Democrat, North East Fife)

Rt Hon Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley)

Mike Gapes (Labour/Co-op, Ilford South)

Mark Hendrick (Labour/Co-op, Preston)

Sandra Osborne (Labour, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock)

Andrew Rosindell (Conservative, Romford)

Mr Frank Roy (Labour, Motherwell and Wishaw)

Rt Hon Sir John Stanley (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)

Nadhim Zahawi (Conservative, Stratford-on-Avon)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during the parliament:

Rt Hon Bob Ainsworth (Labour, Coventry North East)
Emma Reynolds (Labour, Wolverhampton North East)
Mr Dave Watts (Labour, St Helens North)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including news items) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the front of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Kenneth Fox (Clerk), Peter McGrath (Second Clerk), Zoe Oliver-Watts (Senior Committee Specialist), Sen Rudran (Inquiry Manager), Louise Glen (Senior Committee Assistant), Su Panchanathan (Committee Assistant), and Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6105; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 14 July 2014