The FCO's human rights work in 2013 - Foreign Affairs Committee Contents

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Sir Richard Ottaway MP (Conservative, Croydon South) (Chair)

Mr John Baron MP (Conservative, Basildon and Billericay)

Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell QC MP (Liberal Democrat, North East Fife)

Rt Hon Ann Clwyd MP (Labour, Cynon Valley)

Mike Gapes MP (Labour, Ilford South)

Mark Hendrick MP (Labour, Preston)

Sandra Osborne MP (Labour, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock)

Andrew Rosindell MP (Conservative, Romford)

Mr Frank Roy MP (Labour, Motherwell and Wishaw)

Rt Hon Sir John Stanley MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)

Nadhim Zahawi MP (Conservative, Stratford-on-Avon)

The following member was also a member of the Committee during the inquiry:

Rory Stewart MP (Conservative, Penrith and The Border)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via Home page - UK Parliament.


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website at Foreign Affairs Committee - UK Parliament and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the Committee's website at Foreign Affairs Committee - UK Parliament.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Kenneth Fox (Clerk), Peter McGrath (Second Clerk), Zoe Oliver-Watts (Senior Committee Specialist), Dr Ariella Huff, (Committee Specialist), Sen Rudran (Inquiry Manager), Clare Genis (Senior Committee Assistant), Su Panchanathan (Committee Assistant), and Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6105; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 27 November 2014