The UK's relations with Hong Kong: 30 years after the Joint Declaration - Foreign Affairs Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the Committee's inquiry page at

Tuesday 4 November 2014  Question number
Lord Patten of Barnes CH, former British Governor of Hong Kong Q1-27
Professor Niv Horesh, Professor of the Modern History of China and Director of the China Policy Institute, University of Nottingham, and Dr Malte Philipp Kaeding, Lecturer in International Relations, University of Surrey Q28-49

Tuesday 16 December 2014
Caroline Wilson, Consul General to Hong Kong, on behalf of UKTI, Hong Kong, and Frances Moffett-Kouadio, Trade Commissioner, UKTI, Hong Kong Q50-70

Tuesday 16 December 2014
Jonathan Fenby CBE, former editor of the South China Morning Post Q71-107
Tang Chi Tak, Student, Chinese University of Hong Kong, and Hui Sin Tang, Student, University of Hong Kong Q108-133

Wednesday 17 December 2014
Jitendra Joshi, President, Foreign Correspondents Club in Hong Kong, and Francis Moriarty, Chairman, Press Freedom Committee, FCC in Hong Kong Q134-157
Alan Lung, Chairman, Hong Kong Democratic Foundation, and Professor Simon Young, Hong Kong University Faculty of Law Q158-171
Yvonne Leung, Hong Kong Federation of Students Q172-190

Thursday 18 December 2014
Emily Lau, Leader of the Democratic Party in the Legislative Council of Hong Kong Q191-210
Alan Leong, Leader of the Civic Party in the Legislative Council of Hong Kong Q211-219
Dr Tim Summers, Chatham House Q220-239

Thursday 18 December 2014
Avery Ng, Vice-Chairman of the League of Social Democrats, Hong Kong Q240-257

Tuesday 6 January 2015

Duncan Innes-Ker, Senior Editor/Economist, Economist Intelligence Unit


Tuesday 13 January 2015
Lord Powell of Bayswater and Sir Anthony Galsworthy, representing the Hong Kong Association Q280-311
Rt Hon Hugo Swire MP, Minister of State, Stephen Lillie, Director, Asia-Pacific and Gareth Ward, Head of China Department, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Q312-388

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015
Prepared 6 March 2015