Counter-terrorism: foreign fighters - Home Affairs Contents

Home Affairs Committee

The Home Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Home Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP (Labour, Leicester East) (Chair)

Ian Austin MP (Labour, Dudley North)

Nicola Blackwood MP (Conservative, Oxford West and Abingdon)

James Clappison MP (Conservative, Hertsmere)

Michael Ellis MP (Conservative, Northampton North)

Paul Flynn MP (Labour, Newport West)

Lorraine Fullbrook MP (Conservative, South Ribble)

Dr Julian Huppert MP (Liberal Democrat, Cambridge)

Tim Loughton MP (Conservative, East Worthing and Shoreham)

Yasmin Qureshi MP (Labour, Bolton South East)

Mr David Winnick MP (Labour, Walsall North)

The following were also members of the Committee during the


Rt Hon Alun Michael (Labour & Co-operative, Cardiff South and Penarth)

Karl Turner MP (Labour, Kingston upon Hull East)

Steve McCabe MP (Labour, Birmingham Selly Oak)

Bridget Phillipson MP (Labour, Houghton and Sunderland South)

Chris Ruane MP (Labour, Vale of Clwyd)

Mark Reckless MP (UKIP, Rochester and Strood)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Tom Healey (Clerk), John-Paul Flaherty (Second Clerk), Dr Ruth Martin (Committee Specialist), Duma Langton (Committee Specialist), Andy Boyd (Senior Committee Assistant), Iwona Hankin (Committee Assistant) and Alex Paterson (Select Committee Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Home Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2049; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015
Prepared 26 March 2015