2014 Accountability hearing with the Health and Care Professions Council - Health Committee Contents

The Health Committee

The Health Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department of Health and its associated bodies.

Current membership[1]

David Tredinnick MP (Conservative, Bosworth) (Acting Chair)

Rosie Cooper MP (Labour, West Lancashire)

Andrew George MP (Liberal Democrat, St Ives)

Barbara Keeley MP (Labour, Worsley and Eccles South)

Charlotte Leslie MP (Conservative, Bristol North West)

Grahame M. Morris MP (Labour, Easington)

Andrew Percy MP (Conservative, Brigg and Goole)

Mr Virendra Sharma MP (Labour, Ealing Southall)

Valerie Vaz MP (Labour, Walsall South)

Dr Sarah Wollaston MP (Conservative, Totnes)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website at www.parliament.uk/healthcomand by The Stationary Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the Committee's website at www.parliament.uk/healthcom

Committee staff

The staff of the Committee are David Lloyd (Clerk), Martyn Atkins (Second Clerk), Laura Daniels (Committee Specialist), Stephen Aldhouse (Committee Specialist), Daniel Moeller (Senior Committee Assistant), Nathan Hug (Committee Assistant), and Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Health Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6182; the Committee's email address is healthcom@parliament.uk

1   Mr Stephen Dorrell was elected as the Chair of the Committee on 9 June 2010, in accordance with Standing Order No. 122B (see House of Commons Votes and Proceedings, 10 June 2010). The Speaker announced his resignation as Chair on 4 June 2014. On 10 June 2014 the Committee chose David Tredinnick to act as Chair of the Committee for all further meetings until a new Chair is elected by the HouseBack

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 18 June 2014