Justice Committee - First Report
Crime reduction policies: a co-ordinated approach?

Here you can browse the report together with the Proceedings of the Committee. The published report was ordered by the House of Commons to be printed 10 June 2014.


Terms of Reference


1 Introduction

2 Trends in crime and re-offending

3 Developments in crime reduction since 2010

4 The coherence of crime reduction policies

5 Revisiting a justice reinvestment approach?

Conclusions and recommendations

Formal Minutes


List of published written evidence

List of Reports from the Committee during the current Parliament

Oral evidence

Tuesday 2 July 2013: Savas Hadjipavlou, Business Director, Probation Chiefs Association, Ian Lawrence, General, Secretary, NAPO, Richard Monkhouse, Deputy Chairman, Magistrates Association, Martyn Oliver, Chief, Executive, 3SC, and Richard Johnson, independent consultant

Wednesday 11 September 2013: Rt Hon Alun Michael, Police and Crime Commissioner, South Wales, Katy Bourne, Police and Crime Commissioner, Sussex, and Sue Mountstevens, Police and Crime Commissioner; Dr Alison Frater, Head of public health and offender health for London, NHS England, Dr Éamonn O’Moore, Director for Health and Justice, Public Health England, Councillor Claire Kober, London Councils, and Councillor Joanna Spicer, Vice-Chair Safer and Stronger Communities Board, London Government Association

Tuesday 12 November: Ian Mulheirn, Associate Director, Oxford Economics, Toby Eccles, Founder and Development Director, Social Finance, Tom Gash, Director of Research, Institute for Government, and Max Chambers, Head of Crime and Justice, Policy Exchange; Sue Hall, Chair, Probation Chiefs Association, Sebert Cox, Chair, Probation Association, and Oliver Henman, Head of Partnerships, National Council for Voluntary Organisations

Wednesday 4 December 2013: Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP, Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice, and Jeremy Wright MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Justice, Minister for Prisons and Rehabilitation, Ministry of Justice

Tuesday 21 January 2014: Professor Cynthia McDougall, Professor of Forensic Psychology, University of York, Professor Gloria Laycock, Department of Security and Crime Science, University College London, Professor David Farrington, Emeritus Professor of Psychological Criminology and Leverhulme Trust Emeritus Fellow, Institute of Criminology, Cambridge University, and Professor Stephen Farrall, Professor of Criminology, University of Sheffield

Tuesday 28 January 2014: Richard Garside, Director, Centre for Crime and Justice Studies, Ben Page, Chief Executive, Ipsos MORI, Professor Andromachi Tseloni, Professor of Criminology, Loughborough University, and Professor Mike Hough, Professor of Criminal Policy and Associate Director, Institute for Criminal Policy Research, Birkbeck, University of London

Tuesday 4 February 2014: Nick Hardwick, HM Chief Inspector of Prisons, and Eoin McLennan-Murray, President, Prison Governors Association; Rob Allen, Independent Consultant, Mark Day, Prison Reform Trust, Sarah Salmon, Criminal Justice Alliance, and Frances Crook, Chief Executive, Howard League

Tuesday 25 February: Richard Monkhouse, Chair, Magistrates’ Association, Phillip Bowen, Director, Centre for Justice Innovation, Adam Pemberton, Assistant Chief Executive, Victim Support, and Penelope Gibbs, Director, Transform Justice

Wednesday 26 March 2014: Jeremy Wright MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Justice, Minister for Prisons and Rehabilitation, Ministry of Justice and Norman Baker MP, Minister of State for Crime Prevention, Home Office

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 26 June 2014