Voter engagement in the UK - Political and Constitutional Reform Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the Committee's inquiry page at

Thursday 27 February 2014  Question number
Professor Sarah Birch, Professor of Comparative Politics, University of Glasgow, and Glenn Gottfried, Quantitative Research Fellow, Institute for Public Policy Research, Q1-50
Professor Patrick Dunleavy, Co-Director, Democratic Audit, and Richard Berry, Managing Editor, Democratic Audit Q51-80

Thursday 13 March 2014
Dr Ruth Fox, Director, Hansard Society Q81-106
Jessica Garland, Research Officer, Electoral Reform Society, and Will Brett, Head of Media, Electoral Reform Society Q107-141

Thursday 20 March 2014
David Babbs, Executive Director, 38 Degrees Q142-180
Toni Pearce, President, National Union of Students Q181-206

Thursday 3 April 2014
Michael Sani, Managing Director, Bite the Ballot, and Oliver Sidorczuk, Policy Coordinator, Bite the Ballot Q207-230
Dr Toby S. James, Lecturer in British and Comparative Politics, University of East Anglia Q231-256

Thursday 1 May 2014
John Turner, Chief Executive, Association of Electoral Administrators Q258-302
Rob Holland, Public Affairs and Parliamentary Lead, Mencap, Ismail Kaji, Parliamentary Affairs Assistant, Mencap, and Hugh Huddy, Campaigns Manager, Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB) Q303-325

Thursday 8 May 2014
Dr Maria Sobolewska, University of Manchester, and Professor Anthony Heath, Universities of Manchester and Oxford Q236-350
Simon Woolley, Director, Operation Black Vote Q351-376

Thursday 5 June 2014
Nigel Slack, Sheffield for Democracy Q377-385
Professor Matt Flinders, University of Sheffield, and Professor Hendrik Wagenaar, University of Sheffield Q386-398
Alasdair Buckle, President, University of Sheffield Students' Union, Eleanor Thompson, Student Voice Manager, University of Sheffield Students' Union, and Richard Eastall, Director of Membership Services, University of Sheffield Students' Union Q399-414
John Tomlinson, Electoral Services Manager, Sheffield City Council Q415-435

Thursday 19 June 2014
Sue Inglish, Head of Political Programmes, Analysis and Research, BBC, and Ric Bailey, Chief Adviser, Politics, BBC Q436-490
Damian Lyons Lowe, Chief Executive, Survation, Patrick Brione, Director of Research, Survation and Fran O'Leary, Director of Strategy and Innovation, Lodestone Q491-516

Thursday 3 July 2014
Jenny Watson, Chair, Electoral Commission, Phil Thompson, Research and Evaluation Manager, Electoral Commission, and Alex Robertson, Director of Communications, Electoral Commission Q517-614

Thursday 10 July 2014
Dr Rebecca Rumbul, Wales Governance Centre, Cardiff University Q615-637
Dr Cristina Leston-Bandeira, University of Hull, Professor Susan Banducci, University of Exeter, and Professor Daniel Stevens, University of Exeter Q638-690

Thursday 4 September 2014
Jenny Watson, Chair, Electoral Commission, Andrew Scallan, Director of Electoral Administration, Electoral Commission, and Phil Thompson, Research and Evaluation Manager, Electoral Commission Q691-773
Paul Lankester, Electoral Registration Officer for Stratford-upon-Avon, and Dr David Smith, Electoral Registration Officer for Sunderland Q774-792

Tuesday 9 September 2014
Sam Gyimah MP, Minister for the Constitution, Cabinet Office Q793-840

Monday 13 October 2014
Mark Williams, Electoral Registration Officer for East Devon District Council and Kevin Finan, Chief Executive, Mid Devon District Council Q841-879
Roger Casale, Chair, New Europeans and Samia Badani, New Europeans Q880-892

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 14 November 2014