School oversight and intervention - Public Accounts Committee Contents

Committee of Public Accounts

The Committee of Public Accounts is appointed by the House of Commons to examine "the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the committee may think fit" (Standing Order No 148).

Current membership

Rt Hon Margaret Hodge (Labour, Barking) (Chair)

Mr Richard Bacon (Conservative, South Norfolk)

Guto Bebb (Conservative, Aberconwy)

Mr David Burrowes (Conservative, Enfield, Southgate)

Stephen Hammond (Conservative, Wimbledon)

Chris Heaton-Harris (Conservative, Daventry)

Meg Hillier (Labour, Hackney South and Shoreditch)

Mr Stewart Jackson (Conservative, Peterborough)

Andrea Leadsom (Conservative, South Northamptonshire)

Rt Hon Dame Anne McGuire (Labour, Stirling)

Austin Mitchell (Labour, Great Grimsby)

Stephen Phillips QC (Conservative, Sleaford and North Hykeham)

John Pugh (Liberal Democrats. Southport)

Nick Smith (Labour, Blaenau Gwent)


Powers of the Committee of Public Accounts are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 148. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume. Additional written evidence may be published on the internet only.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee is Sarah Petit (Clerk), Claire Cozens (Committee Specialist), James McQuade (Senior Committee Assistant), Sue Alexander and Jamie Mordue (Committee Assistants) and Janet Coull Trisic (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk, Committee of Public Accounts, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 4099; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015
Prepared 30 January 2015