After the storm? UK blood safety and the risk of variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease - Science and Technology Committee Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the Committee's inquiry page at

Wednesday 5 February 2014  Question number
Mark Ward and Joseph Peaty, Secretary and Head of Publicity, Taintedblood, Liz Carroll, Chief Executive Officer, The Haemophilia Society, Dr Matthew Buckland, Chair of Medical Advisory Panel, UK Primary Immunodeficiency Network, and Consultant Immunologist, Barts Health NHS Trust, and Christine Lord, freelance journalist, campaigner and mother of vCJD victim Andrew Black Q1-29
Professor Marc Turner, Chair, Advisory Committee on the Safety of Blood, Tissues and Organs Prion Group, and Chair, UK Blood Services Prion Working Group, Dr Roland Salmon, Acting Chair, Advisory Committee on Dangerous Pathogens, and Dr Sheila MacLennan, Professional Director, UK Blood Services Joint Professional Advisory Committee Q30-66

Wednesday 5 March 2014
Professor John Collinge, Director, MRC Prion Unit and Professor of Neurology at the UCL Institute of Neurology, Dr Steven Burton, Chief Executive, ProMetic Biosciences Ltd, Dr Kelly Board, Technical Specialist, DuPont Chemicals and Fluoroproducts, Dr Alex Raeber, Head of Research and Development, Prionics AG, and Nigel Talboys, Global Director of Blood Safety and EMEA Director of Public Policy and Government Affairs, Terumo BCT Q67-144

Wednesday 26 March 2014

Professor Richard Knight, Director, National CJD Research and Surveillance Unit, Professor Sheila Bird, Programme Leader, Medical Research Council Biostatistics Unit, Dr Paula Bolton-Maggs, Medical Director, Serious Hazards of Transfusion Haemovigilance Scheme, and Dr Simon Mead, Association of British Neurologists


Monday 28 April 2014

Dr Richard Baker, Executive Committee Member, British Transplantation Society, Dr Mike Knapton, Associate Medical Director (Prevention & Care), British Heart Foundation, Ed Owen, Chief Executive, Cystic Fibrosis Trust, and Keith Rigg, Chair, Transplant 2013


Wednesday 30 April 2014
Professor James Neuberger, Associate Medical Director, NHS Blood and Transplant, Dr Lorna Williamson, Medical and Research Director, NHS Blood and Transplant, Dr Paul Cosford, Director for Health Protection and Medical Director, Public Health England, and Dr Katy Sinka, Consultant Epidemiologist and Head of CJD Section, Public Health England Q240-281
Jane Ellison MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Public Health, Department of Health, and Professor Dame Sally Davies, Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health Q282-328

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2014
Prepared 24 July 2014