Advanced genetic techniques for crop improvement: regulation, risk and precaution - Science and Technology Committee Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the Committee's inquiry page at .

Wednesday 15 October 2014  Question number
Professor Ottoline Leyser, Fellow, The Royal Society,
Professor Sir David Baulcombe, Regius Professor of Botany, University of Cambridge, Dr Doug Parr, Chief Scientist and Policy Director, Greenpeace UK, and Liz O'Neill, Director, GM Freeze

Wednesday 29 October 2014
Síle Lane, Director of Campaigns, Sense About Science,
Dr Jack Stilgoe, Lecturer in Social Studies of Science, University College London, and Professor Brian Wynne, Professor of Science Studies, Lancaster University
Sue Davies, Chief Policy Adviser, Which?, and Jon Woolven, Strategy and Innovation Director, Institute of Grocery Distribution Q79-105
Dr Helen Ferrier, Chief Science and Regulatory Affairs Adviser, National Farmers Union, Peter Melchett, Policy Director, Soil Association, and Professor Ian Crute, Non-executive Director, Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board Q106-140

Wednesday 5 November 2014
Professor Helen Sang, Fellow, Society of Biology,
Professor Michael Bevan, Programme Leader, Cell and Developmental Biology, John Innes Centre, and Dr Paul Burrows, Executive Director, Corporate Policy and Strategy, Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council
Dr Mike Bushell, Principal Scientific Advisor, Syngenta,
Dr Julian Little, Chair, Agricultural Biotechnology Council, and
Dr Geoff Mackey, Sustainable Development and Communications Director, BASF Europe North

Wednesday 19 November 2014
Professor Paul Nightingale, Deputy Director, Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex, Professor Andy Stirling, Co-director, STEPS Centre, University of Sussex, Professor Joyce Tait, Director, Innogen Institute, University of Edinburgh, and Sir Roland Jackson, Member, Nuffield Council on Bioethics Q215-262
Professor Sir Mark Walport, Chief Scientific Adviser to HM Government and Head of the Government Office for Science Q263-303

Monday 1 December 2014
Dr Elisabeth Waigmann, Head of Genetically Modified Organisms Unit, European Food Safety Authority, and Professor Joe Perry, Chair, Genetically Modified, Organisms Panel, European Food Safety Authority Q304-349
Eric Poudelet, Director, Safety of the Food Chain, Directorate General for Health, and Consumers, European Commission, and Dorothée André, Head of Unit, Biotechnology, Directorate General for Health and Consumers, European Commission Q350-405

Wednesday 7 January 2015
Professor Rosemary Hails, Chair, Advisory Committee on Releases to the Environment, Professor Peter Gregory, Chair, Advisory Committee on Novel Foods and Processes, and Professor Guy Poppy, Chief Scientific Adviser, Food Standards Agency Q406-442
Lord de Mauley, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Natural Environment and Science, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, and George Freeman MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Life Sciences, Department for Health and the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills Q443-486

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015
Prepared 26 February 2015