Housing associations and the Right to Buy Contents

Communities and Local Government Committee

The Communities and Local Government Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Communities and Local Government.

Current membership

Mr Clive Betts (Labour, Sheffield South East) (Chair)

Bob Blackman (Conservative, Harrow East)

Jo Cox (Labour, Batley and Spen)

Helen Hayes (Labour, Dulwich and West Norwood)

Kevin Hollinrake (Conservative, Thirsk and Malton)

Liz Kendall (Labour, Leicester West)

Julian Knight (Conservative, Solihull)

David Mackintosh (Conservative, Northampton South)

Mr Mark Prisk (Conservative, Hertford and Stortford)

Mary Robinson (Conservative, Cheadle)

Alison Thewliss (Scottish National Party, Glasgow Central)

Angela Rayner (Labour, Ashton-under-Lyne) was also a member of the Committee during this inquiry


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/clg and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Mark Etherton (Clerk), Helen Finlayson (Second Clerk), Craig Bowdery (Committee Specialist), Tamsin Maddock (Committee Specialist), Tony Catinella (Senior Committee Assistant), Eldon Gallagher (Committee Support Assistant) and Gary Calder (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Communities and Local Government Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 4972; the Committee’s email address is clgcom@parliament.uk.

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

8 February 2016