Flexible Response? An SDSR checklist of potential threats and vulnerabilities - Defence Contents

Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Dr Julian Lewis MP (Conservative, New Forest East) (Chair)

Richard Benyon MP (Conservative, Newbury)

Douglas Chapman MP (Scottish National Party, Dunfermline and West Fife)

Mr James Gray MP (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Johnny Mercer MP (Conservative, Plymouth, Moor View)

Mrs Madeleine Moon MP (Labour, Bridgend)

Jim Shannon MP (Democratic Unionist Party, Strangford)

Ruth Smeeth MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent North)

Rt Hon John Spellar MP (Labour, Warley)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)

Phil Wilson MP (Labour, Sedgefield)

The following Members were also Members of the Committee during this inquiry:

Conor McGinn MP (Labour, St Helens North)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website at www.parliament.uk/defcom and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee's website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are James Davies (Clerk), Dr Anna Dickson (Second Clerk), Claire Cozens (Committee Specialist), Dr Megan Edwards (Committee Specialist), Eleanor Scarnell (Committee Specialist), Ian Thomson (Committee Specialist), David Nicholas (Senior Committee Assistant), Carolyn Bowes (Committee Assistant) and David Gardner (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5857; the Committee's email address is defcom@parliament.uk. Media inquiries should be addressed to Alex Paterson on 020 7219 1589.

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2016
Prepared 11 February 2016