Extremism in schools: the Trojan Horse affair: Ofsted Response - Education Contents

The Education Committee

The Education Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Education and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Neil Carmichael MP (Conservative, Stroud) (Chair)

Lucy Allan MP (Conservative, Telford)

Ian Austin MP (Labour, Dudley North)

Michelle Donelan MP (Conservative, Chippenham)

Marion Fellows MP (Scottish National Party, Motherwell and Wishaw)

Suella Fernandes MP (Conservative, Fareham)

Lucy Frazer MP (Conservative, South East Cambridgeshire)

Kate Hollern MP (Labour, Blackburn)

Ian Mearns MP (Labour, Gateshead)

Caroline Nokes MP (Conservative, Romsey and Southampton North)

Kate Osamor MP (Labour Co-op, Edmonton)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website at www.parliament.uk/education-committee and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Lynn Gardner (Clerk), Kevin Maddison (Second Clerk), Martin Smith (Committee Specialist), Anna Connell-Smith (Committee Specialist), Mike Everett (Senior Committee Assistant), Simon Armitage (Committee Assistant), Beryl-Joan Bonsu (Social Media Assistant) and Hannah Pearce (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Education Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1333; the Committee's email address is educom@parliament.uk

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015
Prepared 20 July 2015