Holocaust education Contents

Education Committee

The Education Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Education and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Neil Carmichael MP (Conservative, Stroud) (Chair)

Lucy Allan MP (Conservative, Telford)

Ian Austin MP (Labour, Dudley North)

Michelle Donelan MP (Conservative, Chippenham)

Marion Fellows MP (Scottish National Party, Motherwell and Wishaw)

Suella Fernandes MP (Conservative, Fareham)

Lucy Frazer MP (Conservative, South East Cambridgeshire)

Kate Hollern MP (Labour, Blackburn)

Ian Mearns MP (Labour, Gateshead)

Caroline Nokes MP (Conservative, Romsey and Southampton North)

Kate Osamor MP (Labour (Co-op), Edmonton)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the publications page of the Committee’s website and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Richard Ward (Clerk), Kevin Maddison (Second Clerk), Martin Smith (Committee Specialist), Anna Connell-Smith (Committee Specialist), Jack Dent (Inquiry Manager), Jonathan Arkless (Senior Committee Assistant), Simon Armitage (Committee Assistant), Beryl-Joan Bonsu (Social Media Assistant) and Gary Calder (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Education Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A OAA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1376; the Committee’s email address is educom@parliament.uk.

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

21 January 2016