The Airports Commission Report: Carbon Emissions, Air Quality and Noise Contents

Environmental Audit Committee

The Environmental Audit Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider to what extent the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development; to audit their performance against such targets as may be set for them by Her Majesty’s Ministers; and to report thereon to the House.

Current membership

Huw Irranca-Davies MP (Labour, Ogmore) (Chair)

Peter Aldous MP (Conservative, Waveney)

Caroline Ansell MP (Conservative, Eastbourne)

Jo Churchill MP (Conservative, Bury St Edmunds)

Mary Creagh MP (Labour, Wakefield)

Geraint Davies MP (Labour (Co-op), Swansea West)

Zac Goldsmith MP (Conservative, Richmond Park)

Margaret Greenwood MP (Labour, Wirral West)

Luke Hall MP (Conservative, Thornbury and Yate)

Carolyn Harris MP (Labour, Swansea East)

Peter Heaton-Jones MP (Conservative, North Devon)

Rt Hon Peter Lilley MP (Conservative, Hitchin and Harpenden)

Caroline Lucas MP (Green Party, Brighton Pavilion)

John Mc Nally MP (Scottish National Party, Falkirk)

Rebecca Pow MP (Conservative, Taunton Deane)

Rory Stewart MP (Conservative, Penrith and The Border) [ex-officio]

The following members were also members of the Committee during the parliament:

Holly Lynch MP (Labour, Halifax), Jeff Smith MP (Labour, Manchester, Withington)


The constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152A. These are available online at


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are David Slater (Clerk), Carl Baker (Second Clerk), Tom Leveridge (Senior Committee Specialist),
Stanley Kwong (Committee Specialist), Talia Dundoo (Committee Researcher), Ameet Chudasama (Senior Committee Assistant), Baris Tufekci (Committee Assistant), and Nicholas Davies (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Environmental Audit Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5776; the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

Prepared 30 November 2015