Psychoactive substances Contents

The Home Affairs Committee

The Home Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Home Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP (Labour, Leicester East) (Chair)

Victoria Atkins MP (Conservative, Louth and Horncastle)

James Berry MP (Conservative, Kingston and Surbiton)

David Burrowes MP (Conservative, Enfield, Southgate)

Nusrat Ghani MP (Conservative, Wealden)

Ranil Jayawardena MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire)

Tim Loughton MP (Conservative, East Worthing and Shoreham)

Stuart C. McDonald MP (Scottish National Party, Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East)

Keir Starmer MP (Labour, Holborn and St Pancras)

Anna Turley MP (Labour, Redcar)

Mr David Winnick MP (Labour, Walsall North)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Carol Oxborough (Clerk), John-Paul Flaherty (Second Clerk), Dr Ruth Martin (Committee Specialist), Duma Langton (Committee Specialist), Kunal Mundul (Committee Specialist), Andy Boyd (Senior Committee Assistant), Iwona Hankin (Committee Assistant) and Jessica Bridges-Palmer (Select Committee Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Home Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2049; the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

Prepared 22 October 2015