Work of the Commission in 2015 - Public Accounts Contents

The Public Accounts Commission

The Public Accounts Commission is defined by the National Audit Act 1983 and the Budget Responsibility and National Audit Act 2011. The Commission's principal duties under the Acts are to review the National Audit Office Estimate and lay it before the House of Commons, to appoint the accounting officer for the NAO, to appoint an auditor for the NAO, to appoint non-executive members of the NAO board (other than the chairman), and to report from time to time.

Current membership

Sir Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough) (Chairman)

Richard Bacon MP (Conservative, South Norfolk)

Deidre Brock MP (Scottish National Party, Edinburgh North and Leith)
Rt Hon Nicholas Brown MP (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne East)

James Cartlidge MP (Conservative, South Suffolk)

Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP (Conservative, Epsom and Ewell) (ex-officio as Leader of the House of Commons)

Meg Hillier MP (Labour (Co-op), Hackney South and Shoreditch) (ex-officio as Chair of the Public Accounts Committee)

Ian Murray MP (Labour, Edinburgh South)

Mr Andrew Tyrie MP (Conservative, Chichester)


The Reports and evidence of the Commission are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee are on the internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Commission are Helen Wood (Secretary to the Commission) and Ronnie Jefferson (Assistant Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to Helen Wood, Secretary to the Commission, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA; The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3275.

© Parliamentary Copyright 2016

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2016
Prepared 18 March 2016