e-Borders and successor programmes Contents

The Committee of Public Accounts

The Committee of Public Accounts is appointed by the House of Commons to examine “the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the committee may think fit” (Standing Order No. 148).

Current membership

Meg Hillier (Labour (Co-op), Hackney South and Shoreditch) (Chair)

Mr Richard Bacon (Conservative, South Norfolk)

Harriett Baldwin (Conservative, West Worcestershire)

Deidre Brock (Scottish National Party, Edinburgh North and Leith)

Chris Evans (Labour (Co-op), Islwyn)

Rt Hon Caroline Flint (Labour, Don Valley)

Kevin Foster (Conservative, Torbay)

Mr Stewart Jackson (Conservative, Peterborough)

Nigel Mills (Conservative, Amber Valley)

David Mowat (Conservative, Warrington South)

Stephen Phillips (Conservative, Sleaford and North Hykeham)

Bridget Phillipson (Labour, Houghton and Sunderland South)

John Pugh (Liberal Democrat, Southport)

Karin Smyth (Labour, Bristol South)

Mrs Anne-Marie Trevelyan (Conservative, Berwick-upon-Tweed)


Powers of the Committee of Public Accounts are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 148. These are available on the Internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/pac and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Stephen McGinness (Clerk), Dr Mark Ewbank (Second Clerk), George James (Senior Committee Assistant), Sue Alexander and Ruby Radley (Committee Assistants) and Tim Bowden (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Committee of Public Accounts, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 4099; the Committee’s email address is pubaccom@parliament.uk.

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

1 March 2016