Democracy Denied: Appointment of the UK’s delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe: Government Response to the Committee’s Second Report of Session 2015–16 Contents

The Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee

The Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the reports of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration and the Health Service Commissioner for England, which are laid before this House, and matters in connection therewith; to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by civil service departments, and other matters relating to the civil service; and to consider constitutional affairs.

Current membership

Mr Bernard Jenkin MP (Conservative, Harwich and North Essex) (Chair)

Ronnie Cowan MP (Scottish National Party, Inverclyde)

Oliver Dowden MP (Conservative, Hertsmere)

Paul Flynn MP (Labour, Newport West)

Rt Hon Cheryl Gillan MP (Conservative, Chesham and Amersham)

Kate Hoey MP (Labour, Vauxhall)

Kelvin Hopkins MP (Labour, Luton North)

Rt Hon David Jones MP (Conservative, Clwyd West)

Gerald Jones MP (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Tom Tugendhat MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)

Mr Andrew Turner MP (Conservative, Isle of Wight)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees. Its powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 146. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are: Dr Rebecca Davies (Clerk), Ms Rhiannon Hollis (Clerk), James Harrison (Second Clerk), Dr Adam Evans (Committee Specialist), Dr Henry Midgley (Committee Specialist), Ms Penny McLean (Committee Specialist), Rebecca Usden (Committee Specialist), Ana Ferreira (Senior Committee Assistant), Iwona Hankin (Committee Assistant), and Mr Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3268, the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

12 May 2016