Sir Malcolm Rifkind and Mr Jack Straw - Committee on Standards Contents

The Committee on Standards

The Committee on Standards is appointed by the House of Commons to oversee the work of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards; to examine the arrangements proposed by the Commissioner for the compilation, maintenance and accessibility of the Register of Members' Interests and any other registers of interest established by the House; to review from time to time the form and content of those registers; to consider any specific complaints made in relation to the registering or declaring of interests referred to it by the Commissioner; to consider any matter relating to the conduct of Members, including specific complaints in relation to alleged breaches in the Code of Conduct which have been drawn to the Committee's attention by the Commissioner; and to recommend any modifications to the Code of Conduct as may from time to time appear to be necessary.

Current membership

Rt Hon Kevin Barron MP (Labour, Rother Valley) (Chair)

Sir Paul Beresford MP (Conservative, Mole Valley)

Mr Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch)

Mr Geoffrey Cox MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and West Devon)

Sharon Darcy (Lay Member)

Mr Dominic Grieve MP (Conservative, Beaconsfield)

Mr Peter Jinman (Lay Member)

Mr Walter Rader (Lay Member)

Tommy Sheppard MP (SNP, Edinburgh East)

Jo Stevens MP (Labour, Cardiff Central)


The constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in Standing Order No. 149. In particular, the Committee has power to order the attendance of any Member of Parliament before the committee and to require that specific documents or records in the possession of a Member relating to its inquiries, or to the inquiries of the Commissioner, be laid before the Committee. The Committee has power to refuse to allow its public proceedings to be broadcast. The Law Officers, if they are Members of Parliament, may attend and take part in the Committee's proceedings, but may not vote.


Committee reports are published on the Committee's website at and by The Stationary Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the Committee's website at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Eve Samson (Clerk), Katya Cassidy and Jennifer Burch (Second Clerks), and Cecilia Santi O Desanti (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Committee on Standards, Journal Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6615; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015
Prepared 17 September 2015