Transgender Equality Contents

The Women and Equalities Committee

The Women and Equalities Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Government Equalities Office and associated public bodies.

Current membership

Mrs Maria Miller (Conservative, Basingstoke) (Chair)

Ruth Cadbury (Labour, Brentford and Isleworth)

Maria Caulfield (Conservative, Lewes)

Jo Churchill (Conservative, Bury St Edmunds)

Angela Crawley (Scottish National Party, Lanark and Hamilton East)

Mims Davies (Conservative, Eastleigh)

Mrs Flick Drummond (Conservative, Portsmouth South)

Ben Howlett (Conservative, Bath)

Siobhain McDonagh (Labour, Mitcham and Morden)

Jess Phillips (Labour, Birmingham, Yardley)

Mr Gavin Shuker (Labour (Co-op), Luton South)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Gosia McBride (Clerk), Keith Neary (Second Clerk), Ayaz Manji (Committee Specialist), Sharmini Selvarajah (Committee Specialist), Helena Ali (Senior Committee Assistant) and Liz Parratt (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Women and Equalities Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6123; the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

8 January 2016