The local welfare safety net Contents

Work and Pensions Committee

The Work and Pensions Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Work and Pensions and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Frank Field MP (Labour, Birkenhead) (Chair)

Heidi Allen MP (Conservative, South Campbridgeshire)

Mhairi Black MP (Scottish National Party, Paisley and Renfrewshire South)

Ms Karen Buck MP (Labour, Westminster North)

John Glen MP (Conservative, Salisbury)

Richard Graham MP (Conservative, Gloucester)

Mrs Emma Lewell-Buck MP (Labour, South Shields)

Steve McCabe MP (Labour, Birmingham, Selly Oak)

Craig Mackinlay MP (Conservative, South Thanet)

Jeremy Quin MP (Conservative, Horsham)

Craig Williams MP (Conservative, Cardiff North)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Adam Mellows-Facer (Clerk), Margaret McKinnon (Second Clerk), James Clarke (Committee Specialist), Rod McInnes (Committee Specialist), Rachael Savage (Committee Specialist), Abigail Slade (Committee Specialist), Andrew Wallace (Senior Committee Assistant), Alison Pickard (Committee Assistant), and Jessica Bridges-Palmer (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Work and Pensions Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8976; the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

11 January 2016