Corporate governance Contents

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee

The Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. The Committee’s name was changed, from the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee, on 17 October 2016.

Current membership

Mr Iain Wright MP (Labour, Hartlepool) (Chair)

Richard Fuller MP (Conservative, Bedford)

Peter Kyle MP (Labour, Hove)

Amanda Milling MP (Conservative, Cannock Chase)

Albert Owen MP (Labour, Ynys Môn)

Antoinette Sandbach MP (Conservative, Eddisbury)

Amanda Solloway MP (Conservative, Derby North)

Michelle Thomson MP (Independent, Edinburgh West)

Craig Tracey MP (Conservative, North Warwickshire)

Anna Turley MP (Labour (Co-op), Redcar)

Chris White MP (Conservative, Warwick and Leamington)

The following was also a member of the Committee during the inquiry:

Kelly Tolhurst MP (Conservative, Rochester and Strood)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Chris Shaw (Clerk), Michael Everett (Second Clerk), Josephine Willows (Senior Committee Specialist), Ian Cruse (Committee Specialist), Becky Mawhood (Committee Specialist), James McQuade (Senior Committee Assistant), Jonathan Olivier Wright, (Committee Assistant) and Gary Calder (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5777; the Committee’s email address is

4 April 2017