Corporate governance Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 15 November 2016

Janet Williamson, Senior Policy Officer, Economics and Social Affairs Department, Trades Union Congress, Oliver Parry, Head of Corporate Governance, Institute of Directors, and Stephen Haddrill, Chief Executive Officer, Financial Reporting Council


Alex Edmans, Professor of Finance, London Business School, Mike Everett, Governance and Stewardship Director, Standard Life Investments, Peter Montagnon, Associate Director, Institute of Business Ethics, and Jonathan Chamberlain, Employment Lawyers Association


Wednesday 23 November 2016

Professor Vanessa Knapp, Queen Mary University of London, Elizabeth Wall, City of London Law Society, and Catherine Howarth, Chief Executive, ShareAction


Paul Lee, Head of Corporate Governance, Aberdeen Asset Management, Cliff Weight, Director, ShareSoc, Sarah Wilson, Chief Executive, Manifest, and Kerrie Waring, Executive Director, International Corporate Governance Network


Tuesday 6 December 2016

Amra Balic, Managing Director, Head of EMEA, BlackRock Investment Stewardship, BlackRock, Sir John Hood, Chair, Compensation Committee, WPP, Jan du Plessis, Chair, Rio Tinto, and Helena Morrissey, Executive Remuneration Working Group, The Investment Association


Dr Hans-Christoph Hirt, Executive Director, Hermes, Stefan Stern, Director, High Pay Centre, Professor Charlotte Villiers, Professor of Company Law and Corporate Governance, University of Bristol Law School, and Andrew Page, Partner, New Bridge Street


Tuesday 20 December 2016

Denise Wilson, CEO, Hampton/Alexander Review, Tom Shropshire, Steering Committee, Parker Review, Rowena Ironside, Founder and Chair, Women on Boards UK, Edward Speed, Global Chairman, Spencer Stuart, and Laurie Fitzjohn-Sykes, Head of Research, Tomorrow’s Company


Nigel Wilson, CEO, Legal & General Group, Mick Barker, Group Employee Director, FirstGroup, Tim O’Toole, CEO and Board Member, FirstGroup, and Frances O’Grady, General Secretary, Trade Union Congress


Tuesday 24 January 2017

Baroness Sarah Hogg, Lead Independent Director, HM Treasury, Chairman of the Audit Committee, John Lewis plc, and non-executive director, Financial Conduct Authority, Tom Gosling, Partner, PwC, and Simon Fraser, Chair, Investor Forum


Ken Olisa, Deputy Chairman, Institute of Directors, Chairman of Independent Audit, Chairman of the Shaw Trust, President of Thames Reach, and non-executive director, Thomson Reuter, Andrew Ninian, Director, Corporate Governance and Engagement, Investment Association, and Sir Philip Hampton, Chair, Hampton-Alexander Review


4 April 2017