The Digital Economy Contents

The Business, Innovation and Skills Committee

The Business, Innovation and Skills Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.

Current membership

Mr Iain Wright MP (Labour, Hartlepool) (Chair)

Paul Blomfield MP (Labour, Sheffield Central)

Richard Fuller MP (Conservative, Bedford)

Peter Kyle MP (Labour, Hove)

Amanda Milling MP (Conservative, Cannock Chase)

Jonathan Reynolds MP (Labour (Co-op), Stalybridge and Hyde)

Amanda Solloway MP (Conservative, Derby North)

Michelle Thomson MP (Independent, Edinburgh West)

Kelly Tolhurst MP (Conservative, Rochester and Strood)

Craig Tracey MP (Conservative, North Warwickshire)

Chris White MP (Conservative, Warwick and Leamington)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Chris Shaw (Clerk), Martin Adams (Second Clerk), Josephine Willows (Senior Committee Specialist), Duma Langton (Committee Specialist), James McQuade (Senior Committee Assistant), Jonathan Olivier Wright, (Committee Assistant) and Gary Calder (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5777; the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

15 July 2016