Adult social care: a pre-Budget report Contents

Communities and Local Government Committee

The Communities and Local Government Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Communities and Local Government.

Current membership

Mr Clive Betts MP (Labour, Sheffield South East) (Chair)

Rushanara Ali MP (Labour, Bethnal Green and Bow)

Bob Blackman MP (Conservative, Harrow East)

Helen Hayes MP (Labour, Dulwich and West Norwood)

Kevin Hollinrake MP (Conservative, Thirsk and Malton)

Julian Knight MP (Conservative, Solihull)

David Mackintosh MP (Conservative, Northampton South)

Melanie Onn MP (Labour, Great Grimsby)

Mr Mark Prisk MP (Conservative, Hertford and Stortford)

Mary Robinson MP (Conservative, Cheadle)

Alison Thewliss MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow Central)

The following members were also members of the Committee during the inquiry:

Liz Kendall MP (Labour, Leicester West)

Jim McMahon MP (Labour (Co-op), Oldham West and Royton)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Mark Etherton (Clerk), Tamsin Maddock (Second Clerk), Craig Bowdery (Committee Specialist), Nick Taylor (Committee Specialist), Tony Catinella (Senior Committee Assistant), Eldon Gallagher (Committee Support Assistant), Gary Calder (Media Officer) and Alexander Gore (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Communities and Local Government Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 4972; the Committee’s email address is

3 March 2017