Establishing world-class connectivity throughout the UK Contents

The Culture, Media and Sport Committee

The Culture, Media and Sport Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Culture, Media and Sport and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Jesse Norman MP (Conservative, Hereford and South Herefordshire) (Chair)

Nigel Adams MP (Conservative, Selby and Ainsty)

Andrew Bingham MP (Conservative, High Peak)

Damian Collins MP (Conservative, Folkestone and Hythe)

Julie Elliott MP (Labour, Sunderland Central)

Paul Farrelly MP (Labour, Newcastle-under-Lyme)

Nigel Huddleston MP (Conservative, Mid Worcestershire)

Ian C. Lucas MP (Labour, Wrexham)

Christian Matheson MP (Labour, City of Chester)

Jason McCartney MP (Conservative, Colne Valley)

John Nicolson MP (Scottish National Party, East Dunbartonshire)

The following Member was also a member of the Committee during the Parliament:

Steve Rotheram MP (Labour, Liverpool, Walton)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Elizabeth Flood (Clerk), Katy Reid (Second Clerk), Kevin Candy (Inquiry Manager), Johnnet Hamilton, (Inquiry Manager), Hannah Wentworth (Senior Committee Assistant), Keely Bishop (Committee Assistant) and Jessica Bridges-Palmer (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6188; the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

18 July 2016