Who guards the guardians? MoD support for former and serving personnel Contents

The Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Dr Julian Lewis MP (Conservative, New Forest East) (Chair)

Douglas Chapman MP (Scottish National Party, Dunfermline and West Fife)

James Gray MP (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Jack Lopresti MP (Conservative, Filton and Bradley Stoke)

Johnny Mercer MP (Conservative, Plymouth, Moor View)

Mrs Madeleine Moon MP (Labour, Bridgend)

Gavin Robinson MP (Democratic Unionist Party, Belfast East)

Ruth Smeeth MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent North)

John Spellar MP (Labour, Warley)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)

Phil Wilson MP (Labour, Sedgefield)

The following were also Members of the Committee during the course of the inquiry:

Richard Benyon MP (Conservative, Newbury)

Jim Shannon MP (Democratic Unionist Party, Strangford)

The sub-Committee

For this inquiry, the Chair of the sub-Committee was Johnny Mercer MP. The Members of the sub-Committee were James Gray MP, Mrs Madeleine Moon MP and Rt Hon John Spellar MP.


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in the House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House. Evidence relating to this report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are James Davies (Clerk), Dr Adam Evans (Second Clerk), John Curtis, David Nicholas, Eleanor Scarnell, and Ian Thomson (Committee Specialists), David Gardner (Senior Committee Assistant) and Carolyn Bowes (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5857; the Committee’s email address is defcom@parliament.uk. Media inquiries should be addressed to Alex Paterson on 020 7219 1589.

9 February 2017