Russia: Implications for UK defence and security: Government Response to the Committee’s First Report of Session 2016–17 Contents

The Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies

Current membership

Dr Julian Lewis MP (Conservative, New Forest East) (Chair)

Richard Benyon MP (Conservative, Newbury)

Douglas Chapman MP (Scottish National Party, Dunfermline and West Fife)

James Gray MP (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Johnny Mercer MP (Conservative, Plymouth, Moor View)

Mrs Madeleine Moon MP (Labour, Bridgend)

Jim Shannon MP (Democratic Unionist Party, Strangford)

Ruth Smeeth MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent North)

John Spellar MP (Labour, Warley)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)

Phil Wilson MP (Labour, Sedgefield)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in the House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House. Evidence relating to this report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are James Davies (Clerk), Dr Anna Dickson (Second Clerk), Claire Cozens, John Curtis, Dr Megan Edwards, Eleanor Scarnell and Ian Thomson (Committee Specialists), David Nicholas (Senior Committee Assistant), and Carolyn Bowes and David Gardner (Committee Assistants).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5857; the Committee’s email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Alex Paterson on 020 7219 1589.

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

13 September 2016