Multi-academy trusts Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Wednesday 15 June 2016 Question number

Sir Michael Wilshaw, Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector of Education, Children’s Services and Skills, Ofsted, and Sir David Carter, National Schools Commissioner, Department for Education


Wednesday 13 July 2016

Sir Steve Lancashire, Chief Executive, REAch2 Academy Trust, David Moran, Chief Executive, E-ACT, Lucy Heller, Chief Executive, Ark, and Barbara Daykin, Executive Head Teacher, Little Mead Academy Trust


Councillor Richard Watts, Vice-Chair of the Children and Young People Board, Local Government Association, Emma Knights, Chief Executive, National Governors’ Association, Chris Keates, General Secretary, NASUWT, and Russell Hobby, General Secretary, National Association of Head Teachers


Wednesday 7 September 2016

Dr Melanie Ehren, Reader in Educational Accountability and Improvement, UCL Institute of Education, Professor Merryn Hutchings, Emeritus Pofessor, Institute for Policy Studies in Education, London Metropolitan University, Natalie Perera, Executive Director, Education Policy Institute and Karen Wespieser, Senior Research Manager, National Foundation for Educational Research


Paul Barber, Director, Catholic Education Service, Reverend Steve Chalke, Founder, Oasis Community Learning, Andrew Copson, Chief Executive, British Humanist Association, Reverend Nigel Genders, Chief Education Officer, Church of England Education Office, and David Wilson, Director, Freedom and Autonomy for Schools, National Association


Wednesday 12 October 2016

Jennifer Bexon-Smith, Regional Schools Commissioner, East Midlands and the Humber, Rebecca Clark, Regional Schools Commissioner, South West England, and Janet Renou, Regional Schools Commissioner, North of England, Department for Education


Wednesday 30 November 2016

Lord Nash, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, and Peter Lauener, Chief Executive, Education Funding Agency, Department for Education


27 February 2017