Transparency of decision-making in the Council of the European Union: Government Response to the Committee’s Second Report

European Scrutiny Committee

The European Scrutiny Committee is appointed under Standing Order No. 143 to examine European Union documents.

Current membership

Sir William Cash MP (Conservative, Stone) (Chair)

Alan Brown MP (Scottish National Party, Kilmarnock and Loudoun)

Geraint Davies MP (Labour/Cooperative, Swansea West)

Steve Double MP (Conservative, St Austell and Newquay)

Richard Drax MP (Conservative, South Dorset)

Kate Green MP (Labour, Stretford and Urmston)

Kate Hoey MP (Labour, Vauxhall)

Stephen Kinnock MP (Labour, Aberavon)

Craig Mackinlay MP (Conservative, South Thanet)

Mr Jacob Rees-Mogg MP (Conservative, North East Somerset)

Chris Stephens MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow South West)

Graham Stringer MP (Labour, Blackley and Broughton)

Michael Tomlinson MP (Conservative, Mid Dorset and North Poole)

Mr Andrew Turner MP (Conservative, Isle of Wight)

David Warburton MP (Conservative, Somerton and Frome)

Mike Wood MP (Conservative, Dudley South)


The Committee’s powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 143. The scrutiny reserve resolution, passed by the House, provides that Ministers should not give agreement to EU proposals which have not been cleared by the European Scrutiny Committee, or on which, when they have been recommended by the Committee for debate, the House has not yet agreed a resolution. The scrutiny reserve resolution is printed with the House’s Standing Orders, which are available at


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House. Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The staff of the Committee are Eve Samson (Clerk), Kilian Bourke, Terry Byrne, Alistair Dillon, Leigh Gibson, Nishana Jayawickrama, Foeke Noppert (Clerk Advisers), Arnold Ridout (Legal Adviser) (Counsel for European Legislation), Joanne Dee (Assistant Legal Adviser) (Assistant Counsel for European Legislation), Mike Winter (Second Clerk), Julie Evans (Senior Committee Assistant), Sue Beeby , Rob Dinsdale and Beatrice Woods (Committee Assistants), Ravi Abhayaratne and Paula Saunderson (Office Support Assistants).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Scrutiny Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3292/5465. The Committee’s email address is

10 February 2017