The Government's negotiating objectives: the White Paper Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Wednesday 16 November 2016

Professor Catherine Barnard, Professor of European Union Law, University of Cambridge, Sir Simon Fraser, former Permanent Secretary, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, and Dr Hannah White, Director of Research, Institute for Government


Wednesday 23 November 2016

Dr Robin Niblett, Director, Chatham House, Stephen Booth, Acting Director, Open Europe, Shanker Singham, Director of Economic Policy and Prosperity Studies, Legatum Institute


Wednesday 30 November 2016

Dr Virginia Acha, Executive Director for Research, Medical & Innovation Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI), Gary Campkin, Director for Policy and Strategy, TheCityUK, and Fergus McReynolds, Director of EU Affairs, EEF, The Manufacturers’ Organisation


Wednesday 7 December 2016

Carolyn Fairbairn, Director General, Confederation of British Industry; Frances O’Grady, General Secretary, Trades Union Congress; and John Longworth, Co-Chair, Leave Means Leave, and former Director General, British Chambers of Commerce


Thursday 8 December 2016

Richard Baker, Head of Policy and Strategy, North East Local Enterprise Partnership, John Elliott, MBE, DL, Executive Chairman of Ebac and representative of Business for Britain in the north east, Ross Smith, Director of Policy at North East England Chamber of Commerce, and Councillor Paul Watson, Leader of Sunderland City Council


Wednesday 14 December 2016

Rt Hon. David Davis MP, Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union


Wednesday 19 December 2016

Professor Michael Keating, Chair in Scottish Politics, University of Aberdeen, Andrew Walker, Managing Partner, Johnston Carmichael, Deirdre Michie, Chief Executive, Oil and Gas UK, and Suzanne Burr, Business Manager, Thorpe Molloy Recruitment


Michael Bates, Development Officer, Scottish Seafood Association, Bertie Armstrong, Chief Executive Officer, Scottish Fishermen’s Federation, and Andrew Scott, Chief Executive Officer, Scotrenewables


Wednesday 18 January 2017

Anne-Laure Donskoy, Co-Chair, the3million, Barbara Drozdowicz, Chief Executive Officer, East European Resource Centre, Nicolas Hatton, Co-Chair, the3million, and Florina Tudose, Information and Outreach Co-ordinator, East European Resource Centre


Christopher Chantrey, resident of France, Gareth Horsfall, resident of Italy, Debbie Williams, resident of Belgium, and Sue Wilson, resident of Spain


Wednesday 25 January 2017

The Hon. Dr Joseph Garcia MP, Deputy Chief Minister of Gibraltar; Michael Llamas QC, Attorney General of Gibraltar; and the Hon. Fabian Picardo QC MP, Chief Minister of Gibraltar


Wednesday 1 February 2017

David Goodhart, Head of the Demography, Immigration, and Integration Unit, Policy Exchange, Sunder Katwala, Director, British Future, and Jonathan Portes, Professor of Economics and Public Policy, King’s College London


Wednesday 8 February 2017

Michael Clancy, Director Law Reform, Law Society of Scotland, Professor Nicola McEwen, Professor of Politics, University of Edinburgh, and Professor Alan Page, Professor of Public Law, University of Dundee


Michael Russell MSP, Minister for UK Negotiations on Scotland’s Place in Europe, Scottish Government, Ian Mitchell, Deputy Director External Affairs, Scottish Government, and George Burgess, Deputy Director EU and International Trade and Investment Policy, Scottish Government


Thursday 9 February 2017

Councillor John Pollard, Leader, Cornwall Council, Kate Kennally, Chief Executive, Cornwall Council, and Chair, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Futures Group, Mark Duddridge, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Local Enterprise Partnership, and Kim Conchie, Chief Executive, Cornwall Chamber of Commerce


David Rodda MBE, Rural Delivery Manager, Cornwall Development Company, Patrick Aubrey-Fletcher, County Adviser for Cornwall, National Farmers Union, Dr Laurence Couldrick, Board Member, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Local Nature Partnership, and Nicola Lloyd, Head of Inward Investment, Invest in Cornwall


Tuesday 21 February 2017

Roderick Abbott, Senior Adviser on Trade Policy, European Centre for International Political Economy, Dr Federico Ortino, The Dickson Poon School of Law, King’s College London, and Professor Jim Rollo, UK Trade Policy Observatory, University of Sussex


Wednesday 22 February 2017

Sir Ivan Rogers, Former UK Permanent Representative to the EU


Tuesday 28 February 2017

David Anderson QC, Independent Reviewer of Terrorism Legislation, David Armond, Deputy Director General, National Crime Agency, and Professor Steve Peers, University of Essex


Thursday 2 March 2017

Professor Roger Scully, Professor of Political Science, Wales Governance Centre, Cardiff University, Dr Jo Hunt, Reader in Law, Wales Governance Centre, Cardiff University, and Dr Rachel Minto, Research Associate, Wales Governance Centre, Cardiff University


Professor Brian Morgan, Professor of Entrepreneurship, Cardiff Metropolitan University, Professor Iwan Davies, Professor of Law and Senior Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Swansea University, and Steve Thomas CBE, Chief Executive, Welsh Local Government Association


Tuesday 7 March 2017

Mark Drakeford AM, Cabinet Secretary for Finance and Local Government, Welsh Government, Piers Bisson, Deputy Director, European Transition, Welsh Government, and Andrew Slade, ‎Director, Agriculture, Food and Marine Group, Welsh Government


Tuesday 14 March 2017

Rt Hon Sadiq Khan, Mayor of London


Wednesday 15 March 2017

Rt Hon David Davis, Secretary of State for the Department for Exiting the European Union, and Olly Robbins, Permanent Secretary, Department for Exiting the EU


3 April 2017