Antisemitism in the UK Contents

Home Affairs Committee

The Home Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Home Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

James Berry MP (Conservative, Kingston and Surbiton)

Mr David Burrowes MP (Conservative, Enfield, Southgate)

Nusrat Ghani MP (Conservative, Wealden)

Mr Ranil Jayawardena MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire)

Tim Loughton MP (Conservative, East Worthing and Shoreham) (Interim Chair)

Stuart C. McDonald MP (Scottish National Party, Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East)

Naz Shah MP (Labour, Bradford West)

Mr Chuka Umunna MP (Labour, Streatham)

Mr David Winnick MP (Labour, Walsall North)

[Victoria Atkins has been appointed to a Government post and is taking no further part in Committee activities. She will be formally discharged from the Committee by a Motion of the House, and a replacement appointed, in due course]

The following were also members of the Committee during the Parliament:

Keir Starmer MP (Labour, Holborn and St Pancras)

Anna Turley MP (Labour (Co-op), Redcar)

Keith Vaz MP (Labour, Leicester East)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Carol Oxborough (Clerk), Phil Jones (Second Clerk), Harriet Deane (Committee Specialist), Adrian Hitchins (Committee Specialist), Kunal Mundul (Committee Specialist), Andy Boyd (Senior Committee Assistant), Mandy Sullivan (Committee Assistant) and Jessica Bridges-Palmer (Committee Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Home Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2049; the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

14 October 2016