Suicide prevention: interim report Contents

Health Committee

The Health Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Health.

Current membership

Dr Sarah Wollaston MP (Conservative, Totnes) (Chair)

Heidi Alexander MP (Labour, Lewisham East)

Luciana Berger MP (Labour (Co-op), Liverpool, Wavertree)

Mr Ben Bradshaw MP (Labour, Exeter)

Rosie Cooper MP (Labour, West Lancashire)

Dr James Davies MP (Conservative, Vale of Clwyd)

Andrea Jenkyns MP (Conservative, Morley and Outwood)

Andrew Selous MP (Conservative, South West Bedfordshire)

Maggie Throup MP (Conservative, Erewash)

Helen Whately MP (Conservative, Faversham and Mid Kent)

Dr Philippa Whitford MP (Scottish National Party, Central Ayrshire)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Huw Yardley (Clerk), Katya Cassidy (Second Clerk), Laura Daniels (Senior Committee Specialist), Stephen Aldhouse (Committee Specialist), Dr Charlotte Refsum (Clinical Fellow), Cecilia Santi O Desanti, (Senior Committee Assistant), Lucy Hale (Committee Assistant), and Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Health Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6182; the Committee’s email address is

15 December 2016