Tackling corruption overseas: Government Response to the Committee’s Fourth Report of Session 2016–17

The International Development Committee

The International Development Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for International Development and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Stephen Twigg MP (Labour (Co-op), Liverpool, West Derby) (Chair)

Fiona Bruce MP (Conservative, Congleton)

Dr Lisa Cameron MP (Scottish National Party, East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow)

Stephen Doughty MP (Labour (Co-op), Cardiff South and Penarth)

Mr Nigel Evans MP (Conservative, Ribble Valley)

Pauline Latham OBE MP (Conservative, Mid Derbyshire)

Jeremy Lefroy MP (Conservative, Stafford)

Wendy Morton MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)

Albert Owen MP (Labour, Ynys Môn)

Paul Scully MP (Conservative, Sutton and Cheam)

Mr Virendra Sharma MP (Labour, Ealing Southall)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during the Parliament:

Fabian Hamilton MP (Labour, Leeds North East)

Mrs Helen Grant MP (Conservative, Maidstone and The Weald)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House. Evidence relating to this Report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Sarah Hartwell-Naguib (Clerk), Daniel Whitford (Second Clerk), Steven Ayres, Rachael Cox and Louise Whitley (Committee Specialists), Kingsley Boateng and Anthony Fenton (Inquiry Managers), Zac Mead (Senior Committee Assistant), Rowena Macdonald (Committee Assistant), Paul Hampson (Committee Support Assistant), and Estelle Currie (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the International Development Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1223; the Committee’s email address is indcom@parliament.uk.