UK trade options beyond 2019 Contents

International Trade Committee

The International Trade Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for International Trade and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Angus Brendan MacNeil MP (Scottish National Party, Na h-Eileanan an Iar) Chair)

Liam Byrne MP (Labour, Birmingham, Hodge Hill)

James Cleverly MP (Conservative, Braintree)

Mr Nigel Evans MP (Conservative, Ribble Valley)

Marcus Fysh MP (Conservative, Yeovil)

Mr Ranil Jayawardena MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire)

Sir Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough)

Chris Leslie MP (Labour (Co-op), Nottingham East)

Shabana Mahmood MP (Labour, Birmingham, Ladywood)

Toby Perkins MP (Labour, Chesterfield)

Sir Desmond Swayne MP (Conservative, New Forest West)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this Report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Lydia Menzies (Clerk), Rob Page (Second Clerk), Stephen Habberley and David Turner (Committee Specialists), Andrew Wallace (Senior Committee Assistant), Ian Blair (Committee Assistant), and George Perry (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the International Trade Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1812; the Committee’s email address is

6 March 2017