UK trade options beyond 2019 Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 29 November 2016

John Alty, Director General, Trade Policy Group, Oliver Griffiths, Director, Capability, Trade Policy Group, Paul McComb, Programme Director—Transition, and James Norton, HR and Organisational Development Director, Department for International Trade


Professor Patrick Minford, Professor of Applied Economics, Cardiff University and Co-chair of Economists for Brexit, Martin Howe QC, Economists for Brexit and Lawyers for Britain, Dr Swati Dhingra, Centre for Economic Performance, The London School of Economics and Political Science, and Professor Jim Rollo, UK Trade Policy Observatory, University of Sussex


Tuesday 13 December 2016

Roderick Abbott, former Deputy Director-General, World Trade Organization and European Commission Directorate-General for Trade, and Dr Federico Ortino, The Dickson Poon School of Law, King’s College London


Peter Ungphakorn, former Senior Information Officer, World Trade Organization Secretariat, and Professor Fiona Smith, School of Law, University of Warwick


Tuesday 10 January 2017

Professor L. Alan Winters, UK Trade Policy Observatory, University of Sussex, Dan Lewis, Chief Executive, Economic Policy Centre, Gary N. Horlick, Attorney-at-Law, International Trade Lawyer


Tuesday 17 January 2017

Mike Hawes, Chief Executive, Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders, Mike Spicer, Director of Research and Economics, British Chambers of Commerce, and Peter Hardwick, Head of Exports, Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board


Tuesday 24 January 2017

Sir Andrew Cahn, former head of UK Trade and Investment, Owen Tudor, Head of European Union and International Relations, TUC, and Sean McGuire, Director, CBI Brussels


Mickael Laurans, Interim Head of International Policy and Engagement, Head of Brussels (European Union and World Trade Organization) Affairs, The Law Society, Hugh Savill, Director of Regulation, Association of British Insurers, and Gerard Grech, CEO, Tech City UK


Tuesday 31 January 2017

Professor Niamh Moloney, Professor of Financial Markets Law, The London School of Economics and Political Science, and Allister Heath, Deputy Editor, The Telegraph


Anthony Browne, Chief Executive, British Bankers’ Association, Chris Cummings, Chief Executive, The Investment Association, and Gary Campkin, Director of Policy and Strategy, The City UK


Wednesday 1 February 2017

Rt Hon Dr Liam Fox MP, Secretary of State for International Trade and President of the Board of Trade, and Sir Martin Donnelly KCB CMG, Permanent Secretary, Department for International Trade


Tuesday 7 February 2017

Lord Jones of Birmingham Kb, former Minister of State for Trade and Investment, Lesley Batchelor OBE, Director General, Institute of Export, and Marcus Dolman, Co-Chair, British Exporters Association


Dr Mohammad Razzaque, Economic Adviser, Commonwealth Secretariat, Dr Peg Murray-Evans, University of York, Lord Marland, Chair, Commonwealth Enterprise and Investment Council, Professor Nauro Campos, Brunel University London


Tuesday 28 February 2017

Colin Lawther, Senior Vice President, Manufacturing, Supply Chain Management and Purchasing, Nissan


6 March 2017